The 2014 Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA)-The WINNERS

The 2014 Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA)-The WINNERS

Image result for africa magic award winners 2014
As we all know the  Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) held today.But what irks me is this,this is supposed to be an Africa awards for Africa..not African award for Foreign how come in about 25 categories or so,i see no Films in our native tongues winning?How come all the films that won the awards are in English? Does good acting have to be in English?Can't  you act or produce a fantastic movie spoken in our local dialects?I know i have seen beautiful and thought provoking films in Igbo,yoruba,Hausa,Ashanti languages to mention a few.I saw two awards saying best indigenous language(Hausa and Yoruba) This is a bloody insult! We get this in Europe and the Americas and NOW GET THIS IN OUR OWN CONTINENT as wwell..absolutely disraceful!
Anyway Enjoy the Africa Magic  English awards,oops sorry about the English bit,i meant Viewers awards
 The winners list below:

-Best Movie of 2013 goes to The Contract

-Best Actress in a Drama Award goes to Tope Tedela for A Mile From Home

-Best Actress in a Drama Award goes to Nse Ikpe-Etim for Journey To Self

- Industry Merit Award goes to Peter Edochie

-Best Movie Drama goes to Frank Rajah Arase for The Price

-Best actor in a comedy award goes to Elvis Chucks

-New era award goes to Rita Dominic for The Meeting

-Trailblazer ward goes to: Michelle Bello

-Best supporting actor in a Drama goes to Desmond Elliot for Finding Mercy

-Best supporting actress in a Drama goes to Bikiya Graham-Douglas for Flower Girl

-Best Director goes to Shirley Frimpong-Manso – Contract

-Best Actor in a Comedy goes to: Osita Iheme – The Hero

-Best Online Video goes to: Amarachukwu Onoh – Mother Tongue

-Best Short Film award goes to: Walter ‘Waltbanger’ Taylaur – The Wages

Best Documentary award goes to: Dr Gilbert Chigbo – The Deadwood

-Best Indigenous Language (Hausa): Abba Muko Yakassai

-Best indigenous language Yoruba award goes to: Mercy Aigbe

-Best indigenous language Swahili award goes to: Njoki Muhoho – Mama Duka

-Best Television Series (Comedy/Drama) award goes to: Fred Phiri – Love Games Episode 6

-Best video editor goes to: Shirley Frimpong-Manso – Contract

-Best sound editor goes to: Obi Emelonye and Luke Corradine – Last Flight to Abuja

-Best Cinematographer goes to: Christian Almesberger – Nairobi Half Life

-Best Writer in a Comedy award goes to: Jigi Bello – Flower Girl

-Best Lighting Designer goes to: Mohamed Zain – Nairobi Half Life

-Best Writer in a Drama goes to: Shirley Frimpong-Manso & Hertey Owusu – Contract

-Best Make-Up Artiste Award goes to: Elayne Okaya – Nairobi Half Life

-Best Costume Designer award goes to: Chiemela Nwagboso – The Kingdom

-Best Art Director award goes to: Barbara Minishi – Nairobi Half Life
Previous Post Next Post