Glo african footballer of the year 2016 is Rihad Mahrez

Glo african footballer of the year 2016 is Rihad Mahrez

Riyad Mahrez in Abuja Nigeria where he won 2016 CAF African Footballer of the Year

Rihad Mahrez of Algeria and Leicester City, has won the Glo african footballer of the year 2016 award in Abuja Conference Center, Nigeria.

The much wanted Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang,of Gabon and Borrusia Dortmund was voted runner-up.
Mahrez had an amazing year for both club and country.But really it was his exploits for Leicester City when he helped them claim a shock English Premier League title in the 2015/16 season, consequently emerging the PFA Players’ Player of the Year, that really brought him recognition.
The host nation of the award Nigeria did not go home empty handed as Super Eagles
forward Kelechi Iheanacho was voted Africa's Most Promising Player of the Year.
Alex Iwobi who plays for Arsenal Fc in England was also voted the Young Player of the Year. He becomes the third Nigerian to win, behind Kelechi Iheanacho and Oghenekaro Etebo,‎ who won it in 2014 and 2015 respectively.
Image result for glo african footballer of the year 2016

Uganda won the National Team of the Year award ahead of DR Congo and Senegal‎.
‎Nigeria, the eight-time African champions, edged out Cameroon and South Africa to win the Women’s National Team of the Year award.
The Club of the Year award was won by South African side, Mamelodi Sundowns.
Coach Florence Omagbemi was also beaten to the Coach of the Year by ‎South African‎ Pitso Mosimane of Mamelodi Sundowns.
Asisat Oshoala won the African Women Player of the Year award.‎
Winners in other categories on the night are:
Referee of the Year
Bakary Papa Gassama (Winner)
Ghead Zaglol Grisha
Malang Diedhiou
African Player of the Year – Based in Africa
Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns) – Winner
Khama BIlliat (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns) – Runner-up
Rainford Kalaba (Zambia & TP Mazembe)
Football Leader of the Year
Manuel Lopes Nascimento, President of Guinea Bissau Football Federation
Legend Award
Laurent Pokou, Former player of Cote d’Ivoire
Emilienne Mbango, Former player of Cameroon

  forward, who is no doubt one of the brightest strikers in England  won the award ahead the former holder, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Borussia Dortmund  and Sadio Mane of Liverpool FC. Rihad Mahrez is the first Algerian football star to win the award.
Previous Post Next Post